Senator Richard Durbin United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 Senator Charles Grassley United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

The former law clerks to the Honorable Gustavo A. Gelpí, Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the District of Puerto Rico, write to enthusiastically and proudly support his nomination to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. Chief Judge Gelpí has demonstrated unparalleled service and dedication to the federal judiciary and the rule of law for twenty years, first as a United States Magistrate Judge for five years, and a United States District Court Judge for the past fifteen years. His continued service on the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit will be of extraordinary benefit to the nation.

Serving as law clerks to Chief Judge Gelpí provided each of us a unique yet consistent perspective into his measured demeanor, tempered and impartial judicial approach, devotion to faithful application of the law, and consistently balanced and fair treatment of each and every party and attorney to appear before him. His approach to cases and litigants alike is a model of excellence: every complaint and action before him receives the same impartial attention to detail that any litigant would hope to receive, regardless of the issue or outcome. He exercises judicial discretion to ensure a balanced playing field while staying true to the laws that Congress has passed and their corresponding regulations promulgated by the executive branch.

Chief Judge Gelpí is responsible for the betterment of the legal profession in numerous ways outside of his service on the bench. He has taught hundreds of law students in federal criminal practice and procedure at several law schools. He has served as the national president, among many other roles, of the Federal Bar Association, an apolitical organization whose primary mission is to promote an independent and fair federal judicial system.

Our most valuable contribution to the Committee's consideration of Chief Judge Gelpí is perhaps in assisting its understanding of Chief Judge Gelpí as a person. Even in his individual capacity, he loves the law—its historical development and application, and the opportunity it presents to engage in meaningful discussions. He is a dedicated father who prizes his children's joy and happiness immeasurably. He treated each of us as equals and friends, mentoring us to value each submission, devote our full attention to filings, and address every contention, regardless of its merits. This instruction and level of dedication exemplify the type of judge he will be on the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. We are immensely proud of his decades of service, grateful for his mentorship and friendship, and excited by the prospect of the United States Court of Appeals adding an exceptionally well-qualified jurist.

Carla S. Loubriel-Carrion (2008-2010) cloubriel@cabprlaw.com

Tristian Colangelo (2011-2013) colangelo@sugarmanrogers.com

Anita Hertell-Brennan (2010-2012) anitahertell@sonesta.com

Joseph G. Feldstein (2011-2012) lcdo.feldstein@gmail.com

Maria Teresa Gonzalez (2012-2013) maria.tereques@gmail.com

Clayton D. LaForge (2012-2014) clayton.laforge@lw.com

Grady Campion (2016-2017) greampion@mintz.com

Camelia Montilla (2011-2013) camelia.montilla@promesa.gov

Samantha Drake (2015-2016) drake.samantha@gmail.com

Nina Y. Cortiella (2005-2007) ninacortiella@gmail.com

Marena Ramirez (2007-2008) marearamirez@gmail.com

Rafael Santos-Hernandez (2008-2009) rsantos.hernandez@gmail.com

Coral Del Mar Lopez (2015-2016) clopez@stearnsweaver.com

Andrew Stark (2014-2015) andrewtstark@gmail.com

Adam Sansolo (2009-2011) adam.sansolo@gmail.com

Pablo J. Hernandez (2017-2018) pablo@pablojhernandez.com

Diana Van Leeuwen (2017-2018) sixcolourpictures@gmail.com

Hans Riefkohl (2016-2017) riefkohl@gmail.com

Yasmin Umpierre (2016) yumpierre@hotmail.com

Andres M. Gulliemard (2018-2019) andrewsmguillemard@gmail.com

Lidiana Economou (2018-2019) lidiana.economou@gmail.com

Marianne Hogan (2006-2008) maizhogan@gmail.com

Manuel Velez (2007-2008) mvelez@mayerbrown.com