July 26, 2022

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chair Committee on the Judiciary United State Senate 711 Hart Senate Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chair Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley,

We write to express our strong support of the nomination of Bradley N. Garcia to be a Circuit Judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

We had the honor of serving as law clerks to the Justices during the October Term 2012 of the U.S. Supreme Court. While there, we worked alongside Mr. Garcia, who served as a law clerk to Justice Elena Kagan. Like our bosses that year, we had, and have, different perspectives on law, politics, and more besides. And we have walked many different roads since our clerkships, including in private practice, government service, academia, and business. But we speak with one voice in supporting Mr. Garcia's nomination to the D.C. Circuit. We do so because we know Mr. Garcia's intellect, temperament, and experience—and we know him to be eminently qualified for the position for which he has been nominated.

During our Term, we worked with Mr. Garcia on some of the most important, and contentious, issues of the day. Indeed, over the last 15 years, no Term has seen a higher rate of 5-4 decisions than ours. Through all of it, we came to know Mr. Garcia as an exceptional colleague whose impressive intellect was matched only by his deep humility and thoughtful temperament. Mr. Garcia rarely spoke first, or loudest. He listened intently, considered carefully—and when he spoke, we knew his words would reflect his serious and sincere engagement with the difficult questions that came before the Court that year. Each of us has enormous respect for Mr. Garcia's legal skills, his professionalism, and his diligence. We know him to treat others with kindness and respect, regardless of their position or differing views. And we have no doubt that Mr. Garcia will bring the same fair-mindedness, generosity of spirit, and good humor to his work as a Circuit Judge.

Since our time as co-clerks, Mr. Garcia has continued to distinguish himself as an exceptional lawyer and advocate. In private practice at O'Melveny and Myers LLP, he argued more than a dozen appeals in federal and state appellate courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court, on a wide range of subject matters for a wide array of clients. He has represented, *pro bono*, immigrants challenging criminal convictions and a group of prisoners who were denied the freedom to practice their religion—among many others. Today, he serves at the highest levels of the Department of Justice as a Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Office of Legal Counsel, where he continues to tackle the most difficult and sensitive legal questions. We believe Mr. Garcia's record of excellence will stand him in good stead in his role as a Circuit Judge.

For these reasons, we applaud Mr. Garcia's nomination, and we hope the Senate will confirm him in due course to be a Circuit Judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit.

Sincerely,

Kwaku A. Akowuah

Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

Brian W. Barnes

Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012)

Samantha Bateman

Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)

Eduardo F. Bruera

Law Clerk to Justice Stevens (OT 2012)

Brian Burgess

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Martine Ciccone

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Eric F. Citron

Law Clerk to Justice O'Connor (OT 2012)

Robert Dunn

Law Clerk to Justice Thomas (OT 2012)

Jonathan Y. Ellis

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Janet Galeria

Law Clerk to Justice Thomas (OT 2012)

E. Rebecca Gantt

Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

Joshua A. Geltzer

Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

Brian P. Goldman

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Scott Grinsell

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Joshua S. Johnson

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Emily Kennedy

Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012)

Sina Kian

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Adam Klein

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Caroline Edsall Littleton

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Josh Patashnik

Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2012)

Thane Rehn

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Ian Samuel

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Danielle Sassoon

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Zachary C. Schauf

Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)

Benjamin W. Snyder

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Mark D. Taticchi

Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2012)

Charlotte H. Taylor

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Eric Tung

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Anthony Vitarelli Law Clerk to Justice Souter (OT 2012)

Ryan J. Watson Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012)

Susannah Landes Weaver Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

David Zimmer Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)*

^{*} Additional clerks from OT 2012 were unable to sign by virtue of their current positions.