May 20, 2021

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Minority Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Re: Letter in Support of Anne Milgram, Nominee for the Administrator of the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Chairman Durbin and Ranking Minority Member Grassley:

We write in strong support of Anne Milgram, President Biden's nominee for the Administrator of the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA).

We are former State Attorneys General in each of our respective states, who belonged to both Republican and Democratic parties. Many of us served for multiple terms, operating as the chief statewide law enforcement officials in our states, bringing criminal and civil enforcement actions to protect our citizens and the public fisc, and defending our states in federal and state courts.

We often worked with the DEA and senior officials (including the Administrator) under both Republican and Democratic Administrations. We believe that Ms. Milgram is an outstanding selection. She has an excellent reputation and impressive leadership qualities that will meet the mission of the DEA.

We support Ms. Milgram's nomination for the Administrator of the DEA. As the former Attorney General for the State of New Jersey, she is recognized as an experienced leader who has made tough but fair decisions on criminal investigations and prosecutions. She also has an excellent reputation as a career prosecutor who has focused on the safety and health of our communities.

As an appointed Attorney General of New Jersey, Ms. Milgram oversaw state law enforcement and proactively collaborated with state and federal law enforcement agencies. She spearheaded investigations into human and drug trafficking, gangs, violent crimes, public corruption, and fraud, and demonstrated a commitment to fighting the ongoing opioid epidemic ravaging our communities. She led a criminal justice reform initiative in one of our country's most dangerous cities through the use of data, technology, and evidence-based practices that transformed the Camden, New Jersey police department, built trust between the community and the police, and ultimately reduced violent crimes by more than 40% in one year.

During her time as a federal prosecutor, she partnered with numerous U.S. Attorney Offices to prosecute some of the first sex trafficking and forced labor cases under the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000, and received the U.S. Department of Justice Special Commendation for Outstanding Service and the U.S. Department of Justice Director's Award for her assiduous work prosecuting these human trafficking crimes.

Through these efforts, Ms. Milgram has gained the esteem of law enforcement professionals across the country. She has also established strong relationships with civil rights and community leaders. Her creative, insightful, and thoughtful approach to leadership and public safety as a state Attorney General and federal prosecutor are examples of how authorities and leaders in law enforcement can promote public safety while instilling in the American people a strong faith in government institutions and their decisions. Ms. Milgram is now poised to oversee the DEA's mission, including combating drug trafficking and distribution across the country – an issue which knows no party boundaries.

We urge the Committee to quickly process Ms. Milgram's nomination and urge the Senate to act expeditiously and confirm Ms. Milgram. On account of her reputation and experience, we firmly believe that she exemplifies all of the qualities to be a successful Administrator of the DEA.

Thank you for your consideration.

Respectfully submitted,

Grant Woods Arizona Attorney General 1991-1998

Frankie Sue Del Papa Nevada Attorney General 1990-2002 Lisa Madigan Illinois Attorney General 2003-2019

Christopher Porrino New Jersey Attorney General 2016-2018

John Jay Hoffman Acting New Jersey Attorney General 2013-2016

Zulima Farber New Jersey Attorney General 2006

Peter Harvey New Jersey Attorney General 2003-2006

John J. Farmer Jr. New Jersey Attorney General 1999-2002

Peter Verniero New Jersey Attorney General 1996-1999

Deborah T. Poritz New Jersey Attorney General 1994-1996

James Zazzali New Jersey Attorney General 1981-1982

John Degnan New Jersey Attorney General 1978-1981

Robert Abrams New York Attorney General 1979-1993

Bill Baxley Alabama Attorney General 1971-1979

Bruce Botelho Alaska Attorney General 1994-2002

Bob Butterworth Florida Attorney General 1987-2002

Bonnie J. Campbell Iowa Attorney General 1991-1995

Pamela Carter Indiana Attorney General 1992-1996 Ben Chandler Kentucky Attorney General 1996-2004

W. J. Michael Cody Tennessee Attorney General 1984-1988

Walter W. Cohen Pennsylvania Attorney General 1995

Robert E. Cooper, Jr. Tennessee Attorney General 2006-2014

Fred Cowan Kentucky Attorney General 1988-1991

J. Joseph Curran, Jr. Maryland Attorney General 1987-2006

M. Jerome Diamond Vermont Attorney General 1975-1981

Rufus Edmisten North Carolina Attorney General 1974-1984

Drew Edmondson Oklahoma Attorney General 1995-2011

Lee Fisher Ohio Attorney General 1991-1995

Douglas Gansler Maryland Attorney General 2007-2015

Chris Gorman Kentucky Attorney General 1992-1996

Jan Graham Utah Attorney General 1993-2000

Governor Christine Gregoire Washington Attorney General 1993-2005

Neil Hartigan Illinois Attorney General 1983-1991

Mike Hatch Minnesota Attorney General 1999-2007

Senator Heidi Heitkamp North Dakota Attorney General 1993-2001 Jim Hood Mississippi Attorney General 2004-2020

Hubert H. Humphrey III Minnesota Attorney General 1982-1998

Richard Ieyoub Louisiana Attorney General 1992-2003

Jim Jones Idaho Attorney General 1983-1991

Gary King New Mexico Attorney General 2007-2015

Senator Joe Lieberman Connecticut Attorney General 1983-1989

Michael A. Lilly Hawaii Attorney General 1984

Alicia Limtiaco Guam Attorney General 2007-2010

Jahna Lindemuth Alaska Attorney General 2016-2018

Patricia Madrid New Mexico Attorney General 1998-2006

Dustin McDaniel Arkansas Attorney General 2007-2015

V. Frank Mendicino Wyoming Attorney General 1975-1978

Governor Janet Mills Maine Attorney General 2009-2011; 2013-2019

Jeff Modisett Indiana Attorney General 1997-2000

Betty D. Montgomery Ohio Attorney General 1995-2003

Mike Moore Mississippi Attorney General 1987-2003

Governor Janet Napolitano Arizona Attorney General 1999-2003 Gale Norton Colorado Attorney General 1991-1999

Charlie Oberly III Delaware Attorney General 1983-1995

Hector Reichard Puerto Rico Attorney General 1981-1983

Clarine Nardi Riddle Connecticut Attorney General 1989-1991

Nancy Rogers Ohio Attorney General 2008-2009

Stephen Rosenthal Virginia Attorney General 1993-1994

Mark Shurtleff Utah Attorney General 2001-2013

Jim Smith Florida Attorney General 1979-1987

Robert J. Spagnoletti District of Columbia Attorney General 2003-2006

Lori Swanson Minnesota Attorney General 2007-2019

Mary Sue Terry Virginia Attorney General 1986-1993

James Tierney Maine Attorney General 1980-1990

Anthony F. Troy Virginia Attorney General 1977-1978

John Knox Walkup Tennessee Attorney General 1997-1999

Robert O. Wefald North Dakota Attorney General 1981-1984