Results of Executive Business Meeting – September 19, 2024

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on September 19, 2024.

I. Nominees

Ryan Young Park, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Fourth Circuit Held

Byron B. Conway, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Wisconsin

Reported: Roll Call Vote

13-8

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler, Graham, Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Jonathan E. Hawley, to be United States District Judge for the Central District of Illinois Reported: Roll Call Vote

13-8

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler, Graham, Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

April M. Perry, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Illinois Reported: Roll Call Vote

13-8

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler, Graham, Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Gail A. Weilheimer, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Reported: Roll Call Vote

11-10

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler

Nay: Graham, Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Joseph R. Adams, to be United States Marshal for the Northern District of West Virginia

Reported: Roll Call Vote

17-4

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler, Graham, Grassley, Cornyn, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Blackburn (Proxy)

David L. Lemmon II, to be United States Marshal for the Southern District of West Virginia

Reported: Roll Call Vote

16-5

Aye: Durbin, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Butler, Graham, Grassley, Cornyn, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Bobby Jack Woods, to be United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Kentucky Held

II. Bills

S. 1306, the COPS Reauthorization Act (Klobuchar, Murkowski, Coons, Tillis, Graham)

Held

S. 2220, PREVAIL Act (Coons, Tillis, Durbin, Hirono)

Held

S. 2140, Patent Eligibility Restoration Act (Tillis, Coons)

Held

S. 4713, IDEA Act (Hirono, Tillis, Durbin, Coons, Blumenthal, Padilla, Klobuchar, Grassley)

Held

S. 2082, Ensuring Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act (Cornyn, Grassley, Graham, Lee, Blumenthal, Booker, Tillis, Blackburn, Whitehouse, Hirono, Welch, Kennedy)
Held