The Honorable Richard Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Marsha Blackburn United States Senate 357 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Lindsey Graham Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Bill Hagerty United States Senate 251 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Re: Nomination of Kevin Ritz for the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Dear Chairman Durbin, Ranking Member Graham, Senator Blackburn, and Senator Hagerty:

Each of us had the honor of clerking for the Honorable Julia Smith Gibbons over the course of her more than 40 years on the federal bench, and we write to offer our wholehearted support of Kevin G. Ritz's nomination to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. Like us, Mr. Ritz clerked for Judge Gibbons. Though Judge Gibbons's decision to assume senior status is bittersweet, we find it fitting that the resulting vacancy be filled by one of her former clerks.

Although our ideologies, political viewpoints, and professional experiences are diverse, we are unified in our belief that Mr. Ritz is a brilliant lawyer and an ideal selection for the Sixth Circuit. As a group, we cover the spectrum of the legal profession – including former prosecutors, public servants, business owners, professors, civil litigators, and appellate practitioners. Though our careers are varied, we share what Judge Gibbons instilled in each of us including a deep respect for the law, a commitment to justice, a dedication to hard work, and the value of consensus building. Despite our different opinions, backgrounds, and experiences, we all strongly believe that Mr. Ritz embodies each of those principles.

Through his nearly twenty years of law practice at the United States Attorney's Office for the Western District of Tennessee, Mr. Ritz has established an unblemished reputation as a skilled and careful lawyer who routinely works on complex and challenging cases. He is also widely respected for the professionalism and collegiality that he exhibits in his day-to-day work. Mr. Ritz has spent most of his life in Memphis, Tennessee, and has devoted his entire career to federal public service leading to his nomination and confirmation as the United States Attorney. In the more than a decade he served as the Appellate Chief and Special Counsel in the office he now leads, he drafted more than 200 appellate briefs and argued more than three dozen cases in the federal courts of appeals. In addition to his work on behalf of the United States, from 2008 through

The Honorable Richard Durbin The Honorable Lindsey Graham The Honorable Marsha Blackburn The Honorable Bill Hagerty April 10, 2024 Page 2 of 3

2016 Mr. Ritz taught as an Adjunct Professor at the University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law. We have no doubt that Mr. Ritz is eminently qualified and will be well served by his experiences clerking, teaching, litigating at both the trial and appellate level, and managing a United States Attorney's Office.

Judge Gibbons hired each of us, not because of any political persuasions or connections, but because she sensed we had the aptitude for the analytical work coupled with teachable deportments. Not only our careers, but our lives in general have benefitted from her investment in us. We learned from Judge Gibbons the necessity of dissecting the record and faithfully interpreting the law to ultimately apply it fairly and evenhandedly. We do not take endorsing her successor lightly, but we are confident that, like Judge Gibbons, Mr. Ritz will excel in terms of preparing for oral argument, paying attention to detail, demonstrating a strong work ethic, treating all parties with respect and fairness, drafting clear and well-reasoned opinions, and exhibiting appropriate judicial temperament. After all, he learned from one of the best examples of each of those qualities. Judge Gibbons's influence is evident in every aspect of Mr. Ritz's career and character. The combination of that enduring influence with Mr. Ritz's own substantial and impressive experience and accomplishments leads to our unequivocal support of his nomination.

We note that we are signing this letter in our personal capacities and not on behalf of any of our respective employers. We enthusiastically support Mr. Ritz's nomination, and we hope that he will receive bipartisan support leading to his confirmation by the Senate without delay.

Sincerely yours,

Chris Adams	2007 - 2008
Susanna Rychlak Allen	2017 - 2018
Lucas Anderson	2016 - 2017
Rachel Anderson	2022 - 2023
Rupa Bhattacharyya	1995 – 1996
Brittany Whitesell Biles	2005 - 2006
Luke Burton	2016 - 2017
Thomas D. Campbell	2018 - 2019
Jeremy Carp	2019 - 2020
Madeleine Carpenter	2021 - 2022
Kathleen Cochrane	2008 - 2009
Frederick Conrad	2017 - 2018
Sarah Donnell	2004 - 2005
Matthew Dubeck	2006 - 2007
Michael Gerardi	2012 - 2013
Kate Gilchrist	2012 - 2013
Rebecca Gittelson	2018 - 2019
Susan Goodman	1986 - 1987

The Honorable Richard Durbin The Honorable Lindsey Graham The Honorable Marsha Blackburn The Honorable Bill Hagerty April 10, 2024 Page 3 of 3

David Grossman	2000 - 2001
Jennifer Hagerman	1999 - 2000; 2002 - 2003
Doug Halijan	1992 – 1993
Jonathan D. Janow	2009 - 2010
Greg Jones	1998 – 1999
Alison Kamhi	2008 - 2009
Brian Katz	1991 – 1992
Lisa Krupicka	1986 – 1987
Lauralyn Beattie Lee	1998 – 1999
Andrew Lemens	2016 - 2017
Robert McKeehan	2006 - 2007
Traci Colquette McKeever	2001 - 2002
Ría Tabacco Mar	2008 - 2009
Laurie Meehan	1993 – 1994
South A. Moore	2019 - 2020
Paul Morris	1999 - 2000; 2002 - 2003
Steve Morris	2003 - 2004
Jaclyn Moyer	2003 - 2004
Scarlett Singleton Nokes	2004 - 2005
Caitlin O'Connell	2010 - 2011
Michelle Parikh	2004 - 2005
Katie Reilly	2001 - 2002
Caprice Roberts	1997 – 1998
Ed Roche	2014 - 2015
Arian Soroush	2019 - 2020
Caroline Spore	2017 - 2018
Alex Starr	1985 – 1986
Renee Strandness	2007 - 2008
Jaclyn Tarlton	2012 - 2013
Joe Van Tassel	2011 - 2012
John C. Tishler	1988 – 1989
Eileen Ulate	2021 - 2022
Zach Warren	2013 - 2014
Dee Ann Weldon-Wilson	1983 – 1984