May 15, 2024

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chair Committee on the Judiciary U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Lindsey O. Graham Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

<u>In Support of the Nomination of Chief Magistrate Judge Sarah Netburn to the</u> <u>District Court for the Southern District of New York</u>

Dear Chair Durbin and Ranking Member Graham,

We are Chief Magistrate Judge Sarah Netburn's entire class of former law clerks, and we write in enthusiastic support of her nomination to the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York. We witnessed firsthand her commitment to public service and the rule of law, her unflagging work ethic, and the respect she has for each person in her courtroom. These qualities are the reason she is, and will undoubtedly remain, a credit to the federal bench.

Judge Netburn has devoted her legal career to serving the people of the Southern District of New York. After clerking for Judge Harry Pregerson on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, she became an associate and then partner at Emery Celli Brinckerhoff & Abady LLP, where she litigated cases in both state and federal courts. She later left private practice to promote access to justice for unrepresented litigants as Chief Counsel to the S.D.N.Y. Office of Pro Se Litigation.

Her litigation experience served her well when she was sworn in as a magistrate judge. She has deftly managed an array of complex cases typical of an S.D.N.Y. docket. But regardless of the area of law or the stakes involved, Judge Netburn approaches each case with an open mind and careful attention to the facts and governing precedent.

As federal law clerks, we worked hard. She worked harder. Recognizing the hardships people face while disputes are pending, she works tirelessly to deliver the Federal Rules' promise of a "just, speedy, and inexpensive determination" of every action. In 12 years, Judge Netburn has never left a motion pending on her docket for more than six months. Yet she never sacrifices quality for speed. Her reputation with the bar reflects this diligence. The Almanac of the Federal Judiciary compiles

lawyers' reviews of the judges before whom they appear. Judge Netburn's entry reads like a thesaurus for excellence: "very smart," "very knowledgeable," "attentive to the arguments," "excellent at settlement," "very calm and reasonable," "a terrific judge," "a fantastic judge."

We wholeheartedly agree. Behind closed doors, Judge Netburn is as whip smart and engaging as she is on the bench. She is quick to put others at ease, whether that means entertaining a class of visiting fourth graders or listening to a struggling plaintiff. She has nurtured close relationships with courthouse staff and fellow judges and is the first to pitch in when a colleague needs help.

She is just as generous with her clerks. Judge Netburn always took the time to learn about us, explain her thinking, and share feedback to improve our work. And she continues to be an ally and friend. She is never too busy to catch up on developments in our lives, celebrate milestones with us, and offer her personal and professional insight. With her guidance, we have gone on to clerk for other district and appellate judges, lead divisions at government agencies, practice at premier nonprofit organizations and law firms, teach at respected law schools, and work on some of the highest-profile litigation in the country.

All of us are immensely proud to have clerked for such a brilliant, warm, and dedicated jurist. We know that she will be a thoughtful and even-handed district judge, a valued colleague, and a singular mentor to the generations of law clerks who will follow us. We urge you to confirm her.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christopher M. McNerney, 2012-2013	Louis Balocca, 2018-2019
Clara Pressler, 2012-2013	Daniel Nesbitt, 2018-2019
Lori L. Speak, 2013-2014	Joshua R. Fattal, 2019-2020
Aaron Sussman, 2013-2014	Rebecca L. Pattiz, 2019-2020
Rachel L. Pecker, 2014-2015	Alexander Wilson, 2019-2021
Geoffrey L. Wertime, 2014-2015	Emmanuel Mauleon, 2020-2021
Sarah J. Heim, 2015-2016	Stephanie Alvarez-Jones, 2020-2021
Richard Sawyer, 2015-2016	Samuel G. Bieler, 2021-2022
Joy Guo, 2016-2017	Sonya Levitova, 2021-2022
Andrew Lyubarsky, 2016-2017	Emma Curran Donnelly Hulse, 2021-2022
Neal J. Perlman, 2017-2018	Alexander Dettwyler, 2022-2023
Aaron J. Curtis, 2017-2018	Victoria Ochoa, 2022-2023