The Honorable Richard J. Durbin, Chair Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Lindsey O. Graham, Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chair Durbin and Ranking Member Graham,

We write to express our enthusiastic support for the nomination of Ryan Y. Park to be a Circuit Judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

We each had the honor of serving alongside Ryan as law clerks to the Justices of the U.S. Supreme Court during its October 2013 Term. This group holds a range of views on politics, judicial philosophy, and constitutional interpretation, and we work in various fields, such as private practice, government, legal academia, and public interest. Although we disagree about many issues, we all share the strong belief that Ryan has the intellect, temperament, and experience to serve with distinction as a judge on the Fourth Circuit.

It is easy to discern from Ryan's resume that he is a brilliant and extraordinarily accomplished lawyer with a deep commitment to public service. A summa cum laude graduate of Harvard Law School, Ryan served as a law clerk at all three levels of the federal judiciary: for the Honorable Jed S. Rakoff of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York, the Honorable Robert A. Katzmann of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and U.S. Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg and David H. Souter. Since 2020, Ryan has served as North Carolina's Solicitor General, overseeing the State's civil appellate litigation docket. In addition to his numerous arguments before the North Carolina appellate courts and the Fourth Circuit, he has argued twice before the U.S. Supreme Court. Additionally, Ryan has written for such publications as The New York Times, The Atlantic, and The Washington Post, taught at Duke Law School and UNC School of Law, and served as a member on the Appellate Rules Committee for the North Carolina Bar Association.

Hon. Richard J. Durbin Hon. Lindsey O. Graham July 23, 2024 Page 2

What is less easy to parse from a resume is a person's character. Our experiences clerking with Ryan gave us insight into his exemplary personal qualities, which we witnessed firsthand in our discussions of the difficult and weighty issues before the Court our Term, as well as through more lighthearted interactions at clerk happy hours and on the basketball court. As we got to know Ryan, we learned that in addition to his legal talents, he is an exceptionally trustworthy, humble, and kind human being. Ryan could always be counted on to think critically and in an open-minded manner about even the most controversial legal questions, and as someone who was unfailingly respectful in his interactions with clerks, Justices, and building staff. These attributes made him an ideal coclerk at the Court, and we are confident they will equip him to serve with distinction on the Fourth Circuit.

In short, each of us believes that Ryan is eminently qualified for the position for which he has been nominated. We are confident that Ryan's humility, integrity, and intellectual curiosity will make him an outstanding addition to the federal judiciary. We applaud Ryan's nomination and respectfully urge his prompt confirmation.

Sincerely,\*

Sophia M. Brill Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2013)

Kelsi Brown Corkran Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2013)

Katherine Mims Crocker Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2013)

Gregory J. Dubinsky Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2013)

<sup>\*</sup> The writers have signed this letter in their personal capacities and not on behalf of any current or former employer or client. Additional law clerks from OT 2013 were unable to sign by virtue of their current positions.

Hon. Richard J. Durbin Hon. Lindsey O. Graham July 23, 2024 Page 3

Matthew X. Etchemendy Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2013)

Ian Fein Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2013)

Michael R. Huston Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2013)

Kevin King Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2013)

Judson O. Littleton Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2013)

Katherine Moran Meeks Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2013)

Paul Alessio Mezzina Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2013)

Jason C. Murray Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2013)

Devi M. Rao Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2013)

Morgan L. Ratner Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2013)

Paul J. Ray Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2013)

Mitchell Reich Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2013) Hon. Richard J. Durbin Hon. Lindsey O. Graham July 23, 2024 Page 4

Daniel A. Rubens Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2013)

Mark C. Savignac Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2013)

Thomas P. Schmidt Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2013)

Matthew A. Shapiro Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2013)

Julia Fong Sheketoff Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2013)

Fred Smith Jr. Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2013)

Maureen B. Soles Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2013)

Sara A. Solow Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2013)

Aaron Tang Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2013)

Burden H. Walker Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2013)

Ryan J. Walsh Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2013)

Daniel Winik Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2013)