

110 North Elgin Avenue, Suite 200 Tulsa, Oklahoma 74120-1495 Telephone (918) 595-4800 Fax (918) 595-4990 www.gablelaw.com

November 5, 2023

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Lindsey O. Graham Ranking Member, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

## Re: Support of GableGotwals Shareholders for the Confirmation of John D. Russell to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Graham:

We write to express our strongest support for the nomination and confirmation of our colleague John D. Russell to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma. We are all shareholders at GableGotwals, where John has practiced law for the last eight years. We sign this letter in our personal capacities. While our backgrounds and political views may differ, we all share the belief that John would be an excellent judge and should be promptly confirmed.

As a lawyer, mentor, leader, and friend, you could not ask for a better colleague than John D. Russell. He has played an integral role in the life and success of our firm over the last eight years, serving on the firm's board of directors, on several key committees, and as lead counsel on some of our largest and most complex cases. He has been a mentor to countless attorneys at the firm, including several of the signatories to this letter. And he has done all of this while consistently being one of the firm's most productive and profitable shareholders.

John's work ethic, analytical abilities, ethical standards, and commitment to justice are second to none. Few attorneys can say that they have risen to the top of their field, particularly in multiple practice areas. John can, having done so in the competitive fields of complex commercial litigation and white-collar criminal defense. A Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, John is one of the most skilled and sought-after attorneys in the state of Oklahoma. And yet, while he could very easily fill his plate doing some of the highest paid legal work in the



Support for Nomination of John D. Russell November 5, 2023 Page 2

state, John has instead devoted a significant portion of his practice to serving underserved communities through his work representing indigent clients on the Northern District of Oklahoma's Criminal Justice Act Panel. John believes that every person, regardless of income, deserves a fair trial and lives out that ideal every day through his practice. In ways big and small, he exemplifies the very best of our profession.

In sum, we believe John is an ideal candidate for this position. While we will miss having him as our colleague, we know that he will make an exceptional district judge. Our loss is the country's gain. We urge you to confirm his nomination.

Respectfully submitted,

Ellen A. Adams Jennifer R. Annis Brandon C. Bickle Meagen E. W. Burrows Jeffrey A. Curran Adam C. Doverspike E. Talitha Ebrite Jordan B. Edwards Grant A. Fitz Amelia A. Fogleman Robert J. Getchell Steven G. Heinen Andrew J. Hofland John M. Krattiger James F. Lea, III Justin A. Lollman Robert G. McCampbell Carrie B. McNeer Barbara M. Moschovidis **Richard B. Noulles** 

Steven J. Adams John R. Barker David L. Bryant Jason B. Coutant John D. Dale Sidney G. Dunagan Alicia J. Edwards Philip R. Feist Craig A. Fitzgerald John A. Gaberino, Jr. Jeffrey D. Hassell Philip D. Hixon Thomas J. Hutchison Stephen W. Lake Lance E. Leffel Graydon D. Luthey, Jr. David B. McKinney Nicholas V. Merkley Todd A. Nelson J. Blake Patton



Support for Nomination of John D. Russell November 5, 2023 Page 3

Leo J. Portman Brooks A. Richardson Paul E. Rossler Mark D.G. Sanders Stephen A. Schuller R. Trent Shores Tina N. Soin Amy M. Stipe Timothy J. Sullivan Chris S. Thrutchley Tom C. Vincent II Bradley W. Welsh David G. Woodral Terry D. Ragsdale Rob F. Robertson John Henry Rule James M. Scears Michael R. Scoggins Lisa T. Silvestri Leasa M. Stewart John D. Sullivan Sidney K. Swinson Mia Vahlberg Jay P. Walters Paula M. Williams