

Jonathan M. Eck jeck@orr-reno.com Direct Dial 603.223.9100 Direct Fax 603.223.9000

October 20, 2023

Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

> Re: Nomination of Assistant United States Attorney Seth Aframe to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

Dear Senators:

We are former Presidents of the New Hampshire Bar Association writing to you as individuals and as New Hampshire attorneys to endorse the nomination of Assistant United States Attorney Seth Aframe, of the United States Attorney's Office in New Hampshire, to serve as a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

Attorney Aframe has been an Assistant United States Attorney since 2007. He has tried many cases in federal district court as a prosecutor, and he has litigated more than 100 appeals at the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. He was appointed Chief of the Criminal Division of the United States Attorney's Office in New Hampshire in 2023. He is also the Appellate Chief for that office. In addition to his extensive work on criminal cases, Attorney Aframe worked in the Civil Division, handling defense and asset-forfeiture cases.

As members of the New Hampshire Bar, we know Attorney Aframe either personally or by his excellent reputation. He is highly regarded for his commitment to justice, his character and integrity, and his intellect. Attorney Aframe is a skilled prosecutor, but he is also one who pays careful attention to the goals of justice and fairness for all involved. The citizens of this country would be well-served to have him as a judge on the Court of Appeals.

By our authorized "signature" below, we endorse Attorney Seth Aframe's nomination and hope that he will be confirmed by your committee.

Thank you.

Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate October 20, 2023 Page 2

Jonathan M. Eck 2022-23 David W. McGrath 2018-19 Scott H. Harris 2017-18 Lawrence A. Vogelman 2012-13 Jennifer L. Parent 2011-12 Ellen L. Arnold 2008-09 Eleanor Wm. Dahar 2007-08 Russell F. Hilliard 2003-04 George R. Moore 1999-2000 Randall F. Cooper 1998-99 Patrick T. Hayes 1997-98 Bruce W. Felmly 1995-96 Jack P. Crisp, Jr. 1994-95 Philip R. Waystack 1987-88 Walter L. Mitchell 1984-85

cc: Senators Hassan and Shaheen