President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20500

U.S. Senator Thom Tillis 113 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

U.S. Senator Ted Budd 304 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

RE: Recommendation of North Carolina Solicitor General Ryan Park for nomination to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

Dear President Biden, Senator Tillis, and Senator Budd:

We are current and past chairs of the North Carolina Bar Association's Appellate Rules Committee, the group of lawyers and judges within North Carolina's appellate bar who make recommendations to the North Carolina Supreme Court on issues of appellate procedure. We are writing in our individual capacities on a matter that is important to us as North Carolina appellate practitioners.

We understand that North Carolina Solicitor General Ryan Park is being considered for a nomination to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. A number of us have worked closely with Solicitor General Park in significant cases before North Carolina's appellate courts, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, and the U.S. Supreme Court—in some cases as co-counsel, and in other cases as opposing counsel. Many of us have also served with him on the Appellate Rules Committee, where he has been an active member and strong contributor.

As our experiences have shown, Mr. Park is an extraordinary appellate lawyer and a person of integrity and sound judgment. We firmly believe that he would make an outstanding appellate jurist, and we would enthusiastically support his nomination to the Fourth Circuit.

Although our individual political affiliations are bipartisan, our interest in writing this letter is nonpartisan. As North Carolina appellate practitioners, our only interest is having the most qualified appellate judges serving on the Fourth Circuit. A nomination of Solicitor General Park to the Fourth Circuit would fulfill that goal.

Sincerely,

Robert H Edmes

Justice (ret.) Robert H. Edmunds, Jr.

Justice (ret.) Barbara Jackson

Chustople D. Browny. Jr.

Christopher G. Browning, Jr.

Michelle D. Connell

Andrew H. Erteschik

Bradley R. Kutrow

Matthew N. Leerberg

Mattlem Ur. Sandele

Matthew W. Sawchak

Elizabeth Brook Scherer

Elizabeth Brooks Scherer

John R. Wester

Julie F. Youngman

cc: phillip.a.brest@who.eop.gov geoff_macleay@tillis.senate.gov seth_williford@tillis.senate.gov corey_weber@tillis.senate.gov isaac_fong@budd.senate.gov