February 23, 2025

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Ranking Member, Senate Judiciary Committee 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re.: Aaron F. Reitz, Nominee for Assistant Attorney General of the Office of Legal Policy at the Department of Justice

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin,

We the undersigned are over 80 of Aaron Reitz's former colleagues at the Office of the Attorney General of Texas (OAG), where Aaron was employed from October 2020 through May 2023. Some of us still work at OAG. Others have moved on. But each of us directly supervised, were supervised by, were peers of, or otherwise worked very regularly with Aaron. Together we share our enthusiastic support for the Senate's confirmation of Aaron as Assistant Attorney General for the Justice Department's Office of Legal Policy (OLP).

Aaron is eminently qualified to lead OLP. During his time at OAG, Aaron partnered with all of us to serve as the Deputy Attorney General for Legal Strategy—our Agency's "offensive coordinator"—where he planned, staffed, and executed the Agency's most consequential affirmative lawsuits and legal initiatives on matters including immigration, federal-state-local relations, election integrity, voting rights, Big Tech, consumer protection, energy, and the U.S. and Texas Constitutions. He showed himself to be a courageous and solutions-oriented thinker, a compelling written and oral communicator, a principled and loyal leader, and a creative and serious practitioner of the law.

But what makes Aaron particularly well suited to hold a senior post at the Justice Department is his character. Some of us spent nearly every day of every week for Aaron's full tenure at OAG. Others worked with him for only a portion of that time. But however long our service with Aaron lasted, we know that he's trustworthy, honest, faithful, dependable, humble, and upright. He's a consummate professional. And he's a fundamentally good and decent man who treats everyone fairly and with dignity.

We are proud of Aaron and excited for him and his family to embark upon this opportunity to serve our country. He's the right person for the job. We encourage the Judiciary Committee to support Aaron's nomination, and for the full Senate to vote to confirm him.

Ken Paxton Attorney General of Texas

Lesley French Chief of Staff

Michele Price Chief Financial Officer Brent Webster First Assistant Attorney General

Ralph Molina Deputy First Assistant Attorney General

Austin Kinghorn Deputy Attorney General for Civil Lit. Forrest Brumbaugh Deputy Attorney General for Legal Counsel

Ryan Walters Deputy Attorney General for Legal Strat.

Ruth Anne Thornton Director, Child Support & IV-D Division

George Lane Director of Government Relations

Brent Dupre Director of Law Enforcement

Lauren Downey Public Information Coordinator

Jonathan Richie Deputy Communications Director

Tina McLeod Chief Information Officer

Michelle Smith Senior Advisor to the Attorney General

William Cole Deputy Solicitor General

Mauricio Vasquez Deputy Director, Applications & Tech. Div.

Kathleen Hunker Deputy Chief, Special Litigation Division

Charles Eldred Chief, Legal Strategy Division

Kimberly Gdula Chief, General Litigation Division

Ilisa Burke Chief, Legal Recruiting Division

Alisha Jackson Chief, Grants Administration Division Josh Reno Deputy Att'y General for Criminal Justice

Amber Platt Assoc. Deputy Att'y Gen. for Crim. Justice

Steve Roddy Dep. Director, Child Support & IV-D Div.

Colleen Tran Assoc. Dep. Att'y Gen. for Gov't Relations

Suzanna Hupp Special Advisor to the Attorney General

Jeff Norwood Communications Director

Jarrod Griffin Deputy Communications Director

Lane Brown Crime Victim Services Director

Justin Gordon General Counsel

Tommy Tran Special Advisor to the Attorney General

Henry De La Garza Director, Human Resources Division

Mindy Montford Senior Counsel, Cold Case Unit

Amy Hilton Chief, Healthcare Prog. Enf. Division

Ryan Kercher Chief, Special Litigation Division

Rachel Obaldo Chief, Bankruptcy & Collections Division

Steven Robinson Chief, Tax Litigation Division Jason Anderson Chief, Criminal Investigations Division

Kellie Billings-Ray Chief, Environmental Protection Division

Shanna Molinare Chief, Law Enforcement Defense Division

Kara Kennedy Chief, Tort Litigation Division

Jennifer M. Roscetti Dep. Chief, Consumer Protection Division

Amy Wills Deputy Chief, Opinions Division

Lynne Kurtz-Citrin Dep. Chief, Healthcare Prog. Enforcement

Will Wassdorf Deputy Chief, General Litigation Division

Brian Rasmussen Major, Law Enforcement Division

Aaron Barnes Asst. Att'y General, Opinions Division

Rosanna Cervantes Senior Exec. Coordinator for Crim. Justice

Sara Woodard Exec. Administration Executive Assistant

Beth Allen Exec. Administration Executive Assistant

Judd Stone Former Solicitor General of Texas

Ari Cuenin Former Deputy Solicitor General

Priscilla Hubenak Former Chief, Env. Protection Div. Ernest Garcia Chief, Administrative Law Division

Johnathan Stone Chief, Consumer Protection Division

Joshua Fiveson Chief, Opinions Division

Shane Attaway Chief, Criminal Prosecutions

Nanette DiNunzio Chief, Transportation Division

Sean O'Neill Dep. Chief, Bankruptcy & Collections Div.

Jordan Eskew Litigation Intake Specialist

H. Carl Myers Dep. Chief, Environmental Protection Div.

Kyle Counce Deputy Chief, Tax Litigation Division

Jonathan White Deputy Chief, Medicaid Fraud Control Unit

Gayla Schwab Executive Administration Office Manager

Gabriel Galindo Exec. Administration Legal Assistant

Reagan Eskew Government Relations Office Manager

Jordan Lamb Former Legal Strategy Analyst

Chris Hilton Former Chief, General Litigation Division

Will Thompson Former Acting Chief, Special Lit. Division Todd Disher Former Deputy Chief, Special Lit. Division

Grant Dorfman Former Dep. First Assistant Att'y General

Shawn Cowles Former Deputy Att'y General for Civil Lit.

Lanora Pettit Former Principal Deputy Solicitor General

Paige Willey Former Communications Director

Zina Bash Former Senior Counsel to the Att'y Gen.

Lily Bonin Former Legal Strat. & Special Proj. Coord. Ari Herbert Former Special Counsel, Special Lit. Div.

Murtaza Sutarwalla Former Dep. Att'y Gen. for Legal Counsel

James Lloyd Former Deputy Att'y General for Civil Lit.

Ben Wilson Former Deputy Solicitor General

Joseph Mazzara Former Special Counsel to the Att'y Gen.

Levi Fuller Former Asst. Att'y Gen., Cons. Prot. Div.