The Honorable Richard Durbin *Chair* 

The Honorable Charles Grassley Ranking Member

Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Candace Jackson-Akiwumi to the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We write in enthusiastic support of Candace Jackson-Akiwumi for confirmation to the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. Like Candace, we are former law clerks to the Honorable Roger L. Gregory, Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. Many of us know Candace personally; all of us know her to be exceptional—a rare combination of intellect and judgment, with a temperament that is ideal for the post she has been nominated to occupy.

Professionally, Candace has distinguished herself through her intelligence and accomplishments. She is a seasoned litigator and a dedicated public servant, having worked for ten years as a federal defender. She has clerked for two federal judges, Judge Gregory and the Honorable David H. Coar of the Northern District of Illinois, one of the districts in the circuit she has been nominated to serve. And she is a distinguished graduate of Princeton University and Yale Law School. She has excelled at every stage of her career. This one will be no different.

Candace's intelligence and acumen are matched by her humanity and warmth. She is patient and kind, even when she disagrees with you. (We know from experience.) Candace will treat litigants and their disputes with attentiveness and respect, always remembering the people whose lives lie behind the legal briefs. She will be the sort of judge before whom any lawyer would be grateful to appear, and to whom any litigant could entrust their dispute with the confidence that it will be skillfully and fairly resolved. Candace thrives in the sort of environment required of a judge on a United States Court of Appeals. Firm in her analytical viewpoint, she has the ability to hear the voice of dissent and make a reasoned choice based on her understanding of the facts and the law, as well as consideration of the analysis of her colleagues. Candace will also be an inspiration to the attorneys who appear before her and a phenomenal mentor to the law clerks she hires to aid her.

In Judge Gregory's chambers, Candace was a trusted resource, both for the judge and for us, her colleagues. She saw both sides of every issue and was always ready to engage with any problem. Her considerable intellect elevated the level of analysis in chambers, and her skill as a collaborator brought out the best in the rest of us. She approached each case with passion, but never let that passion cloud her judgment.

Although we are all former clerks of Judge Gregory, we are diverse in our viewpoints, backgrounds, and careers. We are immigration attorneys, commercial litigators, law professors, directors at non-profits, counsel for government agencies, in-house lawyers, data scientists, and civil rights attorneys. We are former federal and state prosecutors, public defenders, JAG officers, labor lawyers, government trial lawyers, plaintiff and defense counsel, congressional staffers, and foreign relations officers. Despite these differences, we are united in our support for Candace.

Candace personifies excellence and integrity. If confirmed, she will represent those virtues and more. Like Judge Gregory, she will be an inspiration to others—a symbol of what can be achieved and the good that can be accomplished by a person with heart. We emphatically support her confirmation without reservation.

Sincerely,

Matthew Peller

Brian A. Pérez-Daple

– Law Clerks to Judge Gregory, 2006–2007 –



Juan A. Arteaga 2003-2004 Charles D. Austin 2013-2014 Portia R. Bamiduro 2003-2004 John Clopper 2001-2002 Chandra C. Davis 2004-2005 Maya M. Eckstein 2001 Sara A. Fairchild 2017-2018 Daniel Fryer 2019-2020 Shimica D. Gaskins 2007-2008 Daniel S. Harawa 2012-2013 Brandon Hasbrouck 2015-2016

Antonio Lavelle Ingram, II 2017-2018 Christopher M. Jackson 2011–2012 Cale Jaffe 2002-2003 Eamon P. Joyce 2003-2004 Chimnomnso N. Kalu 2014-2015 Cortelyou Kenney 2011-2012 Neel Lalchandani 2016-2017 LaDonne C. Lankster 2001-2002 Jon J. Lee 2008-2009 A. Anne Lloyd 2009-2010 Kapil Longani 2007-2008

Estalyn Smyke Marquis 2018-2019 Paul Meyer 2014-2015 Mercedes Montagnes 2010-2011 Tamra Tyree Moore 2002-2003 Zachary K. Nguyen 2019–2020 Erin K. Pitts 2005–2006 Hallie Jay Pope 2014–2015 Jessica L. Roberts 2007–2008 Kathryn Robinette

2015–2016

Deuel Ross 2010–2011

JP Schnapper-Casteras 2010–2011 Lillian V. Smith 2016–2017 Carson H. Sullivan 2001-2002 Dan Svirsky 2013–2014 Brian Tengel 2018-2019 Lartease Tiffith 2007–2008 Thais-Lyn Trayer 2014–2015 Melissa A. Valladares 2018-2019 Kristin L. Woeste 2005-2006