

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200 | Alexandria, VA 22314, USA | 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THEIACP | www.theIACP.org

May 4, 2022

The Honorable Dick Durbin Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Chuck Grassley Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

On behalf of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), I am pleased to inform you of our support for the nomination of Steven M. Dettelbach as Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF).

Throughout his career, Mr. Dettelbach has demonstrated an unyielding commitment to protecting the safety of the public. His years of experience as a United States Attorney have provided him the opportunity to work closely with law enforcement agencies and gain a unique understanding of the challenges and complexities agencies face in combating firearms violence, gang-related crime, and other threats to our communities. Mr. Dettelbach has a collaborative style of leadership that will be helpful in engaging ATF professional staff, state and local law enforcement, and other key stakeholders.

We believe that Mr. Dettelbach's experience, expertise, and record of success are evidence of his outstanding qualifications to serve as the next Director of the ATF. The IACP urges the Judiciary Committee, and the members of the United States Senate, to confirm Steven M. Dettelbach as Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please let me know how the IACP may be of further assistance in this vitally important process.

Sincerely,

Chief Dwight E. Henninger

IACP President

President

Chief Dwight E. Henninger

Immediate Past President Chief Cynthia E. Renaud (Ret.) Santa Monica, CA, Police Department

First Vice PresidentChief John Letteney
Thomasville, GA, Police Department

Second Vice President Chief Wade Carpenter Park City, UT, Police Department Third Vice President Chief Ken A. Walker West University Place

West University Place, TX, Police Department

Fourth Vice PresidentDirector David B. Rausch *Tennessee Bureau of Investigation*

Fifth Vice President
Doug Shoemaker
Grand Junction, CO, Police Department

Vice President At-Large Chief Sean Duggan Chandler, AZ, Police Department Vice President At-Large
Chief Kristen Ziman (Ret.)
Aurora, IL. Police Departmen

International Vice President Emmanuel Roux Head of the International Division of the French Judicial Police

Vice President-Treasurer Chief Ronald A. Sellon Mansfield, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Division of State and Provincial Police Colonel Matthew Langer Minnesota State Patrol General Chair, Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Chief James G. Hicks Natick, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Midsize Agencies Division Chief Edward Walsh Taunton, MA, Police Department

Parliamentarian
Chief Robert Champagne (Ret.)
Peabody, MA, Police Department

Executive Director /
Chief Executive Officer
Vincent Talucci, CAE
Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director / Chief Operating Officer Terrence M. Cunningham Alexandria, VA