The Honorable Dick Durbin
Chairman
Committee on the Judiciary
United States Senate
224 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Lindsey Graham Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Molly R. Silfen, Judicial Nominee to the United States Court of Federal Claims

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Graham,

We write to express our strong support for the confirmation of Molly R. Silfen to serve on the United States Court of Federal Claims. We have all had the opportunity to work with Molly as coworkers and colleagues in the fields of intellectual property and appellate law. We come from across the political spectrum, but all appreciate the importance of judges who are thoughtful, impartial, and dedicated. Molly embodies these characteristics and many others that make her exceptionally qualified to serve on the Court of Federal Claims.

In our work with Molly, we have witnessed first-hand her exceptional intellect. She spots issues that others miss, thoroughly analyzes arguments, and explains herself in clear, understandable terms. She knows the law and our legal system as few others do and has demonstrated a passion for public service. Molly's impeccable educational credentials almost pale in comparison with her extraordinary experience in public service. Most of her legal career has been spent in government service, including at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the Appellate Section of the U.S. Department of Justice, the Intellectual Property Subcommittee of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. We know that Molly's intelligence, work ethic, and rich and varied experience will position her well to succeed as an excellent jurist.

Molly's intelligence and background are impressive, but even more impressive is that is she a delight to work with. She is collegial, respectful, warm, and interested in others. She seeks and readily receives input from team members, invites differing viewpoints, and welcomes collaboration. She is well respected and active in the IP community. Many of us have worked with Molly on bar association committees or other professional activities, and she is quick to volunteer her time and energy, support initiatives, and follow through on her commitments. She is a great colleague and a loyal friend. We have been fortunate to know and work with Molly and are confident that her collegiality, loyalty, and temperament will enable her to serve honorably and with distinction as a federal judge.

We enthusiastically support Molly's nomination and urge the Senate to confirm her to the U.S. Court of Federal Claims without delay.

Respectfully submitted,

Erika Arner, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner Elizabeth D. Ferrill, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner Susan Tull, Latham & Watkins Susan Allen

Srikala P. Atluri

James Barney

Les Bookoff, Bookoff McAndrews

Smith R. Brittingham IV

William Burgess, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Barbara Butterworth, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner

Kakoli Caprihan

Paromita Chatterjee, Hologic, Inc.

Jorge L. Contreras, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law and London School of Economics and Political Science

Sarah E. Craven

Mai-Trang D. Dang

Elizabeth L. Dougherty, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Jonathan Y. Ellis, McGuireWoods LLP

Rama G. Elluru, Special Competitive Studies Project (former USPTO)

Mark C. Fleming, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP

Michael Flibbert

Jenae Gureff, Cantor Colburn

Jeremiah Helm, Knobbe Martens

Benjamin T. Hickman

Alyssa Holtslander, Senior Patent Counsel at Unified Patents, LLC.

**Panyin Hughes** 

Benjamin H. Huh, Crowdstrike, Inc.

Sharon Israel, Shook, Hardy & Bacon

D. Brian Kacedon

Daniel Kazhdan, USPTO Solicitor

Nathan K. Kelley, Perkins Coie LLP

Mary L. Kelly, Office of the Solicitor for the USPTO

Monica B. Lateef

William Lee

Jessica Marks, Senior Patent Counsel at Unified Patents, LLC.

Roland McAndrews, Bookoff McAndrews

J. Derek McCorquindale

Barbara McCurdy

Robert McManus

Jason Melvin, USPTO

Dinesh N. Melwani, Bookoff McAndrews

Professor Lateef Mtima, Howard University School of Law

Amy Nelson, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Elizabeth A. Niemeyer

Michael V. O'Shaughnessy, General Counsel, CaaMTech, Inc.

Antigone Peyton, Ridgeline International, Inc.

Maureen D. Queler

Megan Raymond, Groombridge, Wu, Baughman & Stone LLP
Teresa Stanek Rea, Crowell & Moring LLP
Sonja W. Sahlsten, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner
John Sieman, Sr. Principal Patent Counsel, SAS Institute Inc.
Sarah J. Sladic, Office of Unfair Import Investigations, U.S. International Trade Commission
Allen Sokal, Insigne PC
Philip Warrick, Irell & Manella
Scott Weidenfeller, Covington & Burling
John Williamson
Ariana Woods, Coinbase
Jennifer H. Wu, Groombridge, Wu, Baughman & Stone LLP

References to law firms, corporations, government agencies, or other institutions are for identification purposes only and do not indicate endorsements by those entities.