PRESIDENT: Maria "Mia" Touchet, Albuquerque PRESIDENT ELECT: Tyler J. Atkins, Albuquerque IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: Michael J. Dovle, Los Lunas

SECRETARY: Feliz A. Rael, Albuquerque TREASURER

Stephen R. Marshall, Albuquerque AAJ GOVERNOR

Lisa K. Curtis, Albuquerque Kathleen J. Love, Albuquerque

AAJ DELEGATES: Ben Davis, Albuquerque Dusti Harvey, Albuquerque

AAJ REVITALIZATION GOVERNOR Larissa Lozano, Albuquerque AAJ MINORITY DELEGATE

Julio C. Romero, Albuquerque EDITOR:

Mish Miera-Rosete, Albuquerque DIRECTORS: Paul Abrams, Santa Fe Erika Anderson, Albuquerque Richard Barrera, Jr., Albuquerque Lori Bencoe, Albuquerque Margaret M. Branch, Albuquerque Allegra Carpenter, Albuquerque Joshua K. Conaway, Albuquerque Nancy Cronin, Albuquerque Tina Cruz, Taos Katie Curry, Albuquerque Gina Downes, Albuquerque David Duhigg, Albuquerque Michael G. Duran, Albuquerque Katherine M. Ferlic, Santa Fe Sean M. Fitzpatrick, Albuquerque Adam Flores, Albuquerque Connie Flores, Las Cruces Nikko Harada, Albuquerque Andrea D. Harris, Albuquerque F. Michael Hart. Albuquerque Nicholas T. Hart, Albuquerque Rachel E. Higgins, Albuquerque Corbin P. Hildebrandt, Albuquerque Lee Hunt Santa Fe Justin R. Kaufman, Santa Fe William R. Keeler, Gallup Zackeree S. Kelin, Albuquerque Cherie L. LaCour, Albuquerque Cid D. Lopez, Albuquerque Katie Marion, Albuquerque David B. Martinez, Albuquerque Kristina Martinez, Santa Fe Nicholas H. Mattison, Albuquerque Sean P. McAfee, Albuquerque Randi McGinn, Albuquerque Mollie C. McGraw, Las Cruces A. Elicia Montoya, Albuquerque Joel T. Newton, Las Cruces Chris Papaleo, Albuquerque Richard J. Parmley, Jr., Farmington Bertrand Parnall, Albuquerque Victor Poulos, Las Cruces Geoffrey R. Romero, Albuquerque Pía A. Salazar, Albuquerque Andrew Scholl, Albuquerque Michael Sievers, Albuquerque David J. Stout, Albuquerque Kelly Stout Sanchez, Albuquerque James Tawney, Las Cruces Bruce E. Thompson, Albuquerque Victor A. Titus, Farmington Denise M. Torres, Albuquerque Rob Treinen, Albuquerque Gabrielle Valdez, Albuquerque Richard J. Valle, Albuquerque Matthew A. Vance, Albuquerque Ray M. Vargas, II, Albuquerque Adrian O. Vega, Albuquerque Scott F. Voorhees, Santa Fe Samuel H. Walker, Albuquerque Vincent J. Ward, Albuquerque Peter D. White, Santa Fe

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Julianna Koob **DEPUTY DIRECTOR:** Kristy D. Jones

Bryan Williams, Albuquerque Joleen K. Youngers, Santa Fe



September 27, 2022

The Honorable Dick Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Chuck Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United State Senate Washington, DC 20510

Re: Letter in support of Matthew Garcia

Dear Senator Durbin and Senator Grassley:

The New Mexico Trial Lawyers Association writes this letter in support of Matthew Garcia, President Biden's nominee for Article III Judge in the Federal District Court of New Mexico.

Mr. Garcia has dedicated his professional life to public service. As General Counsel to Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, he was at the center of some of the most difficult legal issues our state has faced, including challenges against public health orders during the Covid-19 pandemic. During legislative sessions, he was the lawyer who all stakeholders counted on to analyze and advise the governor on complicated legal issues. Even in private practice, his work was focused on serving the public. He represented the ACLU in a lawsuit against the New Mexico Department of Children, Youth, and Families to ensure safety and mental health services for youth in juvenile justice facilities. He argued before the New Mexico Supreme Court on behalf of a whistleblower who revealed misuse of public funds by a former Secretary of State. Most notably, he stood up for the constitutional rights of many individual New Mexico citizens, including some of our most vulnerable citizens - children, people with mental illness and people experiencing homelessness.

Mr. Garcia served on our Board of Directors during his time in private practice. Within our organization, Mr. Garcia was consistently called upon to analyze some of the most complex and nuanced legal issues because of his stellar reputation with other practitioners and the judiciary. He was always generous with his time and gave countless hours of service teaching continuing legal education seminars and contributing to our legal journal.

PRESIDENT: Maria "Mia" Touchet, Albuquerque PRESIDENT ELECT: Tyler J. Atkins, Albuquerque IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: Michael J. Doyle, Los Lunas SECRETARY: Feliz A. Rael, Albuquerque TREASURER Stephen R. Marshall, Albuquerque

AAJ GOVERNOR Lisa K. Curtis, Albuquerque Kathleen J. Love, Albuquerque

AAJ DELEGATES: Ben Davis, Albuquerque

Dusti Harvey, Albuquerque AAJ REVITALIZATION GOVERNOR Larissa Lozano, Albuquerque AAJ MINORITY DELEGATE Julio C. Romero, Albuquerque

EDITOR: Mish Miera-Rosete, Albuquerque DIRECTORS: Paul Abrams, Santa Fe Erika Anderson, Albuquerque Richard Barrera, Jr., Albuquerque Lori Bencoe, Albuquerque Margaret M. Branch, Albuquerque Allegra Carpenter, Albuquerque Joshua K. Conaway, Albuquerque Nancy Cronin, Albuquerque Tina Cruz, Taos Katie Curry, Albuquerque Gina Downes, Albuquerque David Duhigg, Albuquerque Michael G. Duran, Albuquerque Katherine M. Ferlic, Santa Fe Sean M. Fitzpatrick, Albuquerque Adam Flores, Albuquerque Connie Flores, Las Cruces Nikko Harada, Albuquerque Andrea D. Harris, Albuquerque F. Michael Hart, Albuquerque Nicholas T. Hart, Albuquerque Rachel E. Higgins, Albuquerque Corbin P. Hildebrandt, Albuquerque Lee Hunt, Santa Fe Justin R. Kaufman, Santa Fe William R. Keeler, Gallup Zackeree S. Kelin, Albuquerque Cherie L. LaCour, Albuquerque Cid D. Lopez, Albuquerque Katie Marion, Albuquerque David B. Martinez, Albuquerque Kristina Martinez, Santa Fe Nicholas H. Mattison, Albuquerque Sean P. McAfee, Albuquerque Randi McGinn, Albuquerque Mollie C. McGraw, Las Cruces A. Elicia Montoya, Albuquerque Joel T. Newton, Las Cruces Chris Papaleo, Albuquerque Richard J. Parmley, Jr., Farmington Bertrand Parnall, Albuquerque Victor Poulos, Las Cruces Geoffrey R. Romero, Albuquerque Pia A. Salazar, Albuquerque Andrew Scholl, Albuquerque Michael Sievers, Albuquerque David J. Stout, Albuquerque Kelly Stout Sanchez, Albuquerque James Tawney, Las Cruces Bruce E. Thompson, Albuquerque Victor A. Titus, Farmington Denise M. Torres, Albuquerque Rob Treinen, Albuquerque Gabrielle Valdez, Albuquerque Richard J. Valle, Albuquerque Matthew A. Vance, Albuquerque Ray M. Vargas, II, Albuquerque Adrian O. Vega, Albuquerque Scott F. Voorhees, Santa Fe

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Julianna Koob DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Kristy D. Jones

Samuel H. Walker, Albuquerque Vincent J. Ward, Albuquerque Peter D. White, Santa Fe Bryan Williams, Albuquerque Joleen K. Youngers, Santa Fe



Matthew Garcia is an exceptional nominee. He is intelligent, measured, patient, and generous with his time. His combination of intelligence and character would suit the position well. We urge the Senate Judiciary Committee to approve his nomination quickly.

Maria E. Touchet

Sincerely

mia@touchetlaw.com

President of The New Mexico Trial Lawyers Association

S. 1. 18 T.

Rebecca Avita (Rebecca Avita@heinrich.senate.gov) cc: Travis Knight (Travis Knight@heinrich.senate.gov)