

## **2021 Commission Members**

Justice Mary I. Yu Co-Chairperson Washington State Supreme Court

Judge Veronica Alicea-Galván Co-Chairperson King County Superior Court

Judge Johanna Bender King County Superior Court

Ms. Ann Benson Washington Defender Association

Ms. Esperanza Borboa Access to Justice Board

Ms. Lisa Castilleja University of Washington School of Law

> Judge Faye Chess Seattle Municipal Court

Professor Mark A. Chinen Seattle University School of Law

> Judge Linda Coburn Edmonds Municipal Court

> > Ms. Theresa Cronin Community Member

Ms. Grace Cross Skamania County Clerk

Chief Adrian Diaz Seattle Police Department

Judge Theresa Doyle King County Superior Court

Professor Jason Gillmer Gonzaga University School of Law

> Judge Anthony Gipe Kent Municipal Court

Judge Bonnie J. Glenn Office of Administrative Hearings

> Ms. Kitara Johnson Excelsior Youth Center

LaTricia Kinlow
District and Municipal Court Managers Association

Ms. Anne Lee TeamChild

Judge LeRoy McCullough King County Superior Court

Justice Raquel Montoya-Lewis Washington State Supreme Court

Ms. Karen Murray King County Associated Counsel for the Accused

Briana Ortega Stamper Rubens, P.S.

Mr. Christopher Sanders Federal Public Defender's Office

Judge Ketu Shah King County Superior Court

Judge Lori K. Smith Washington State Court of Appeals

Mr. Travis Stearns Washington Defender Association

Mr. Chad Enright Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys

> Ms. Leah Taguba King County Prosecutor's Office

Mr. Joshua Treybig
King County Department of Public Defense

Jeremy Walker QLaw

Judge Karl Williams District and Municipal Court Judges Association

## Washington State Minority and Justice Commission

April 26, 2022

Senator Richard Durbin, Chairman Senate Committee on the Judiciary Hart Senate Office Building, SH-711 Washington, DC 20510

Senator Charles Grassley, Ranking Member Senate Committee on the Judiciary Hart Senate Office Building, SH-135 Washington, DC 20510

## Re: Judge Salvador Mendoza

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We are pleased to offer this letter of support regarding your consideration of Judge Salvador Mendoza for appointment to the 9<sup>th</sup> Circuit Court of Appeals. Judge Mendoza has been involved with our Commission since he was a lawyer and state superior court judge. As one of the few Latino lawyers in southeastern Washington State, he recognized how important it was to be a role model for young Latino/a children and how important it was to be visibly present in the community.

Each year the Minority and Justice Commission sponsors a Youth Forum. The Forum is an opportunity for those of who work in the court system to speak with young people and to encourage them to stay in school. Our partner agencies included law enforcement, lawyers, court reporters, clerks, and teachers. Judge Mendoza consistently helped plan these annual events and more importantly he recruited judges from around the state to join the event because he recognized how critical it was for young people to have direct contact with judges and other role models. Because many of these young people were children of migrant farmworkers, Judge Mendoza's presence and leadership role was especially impactful.

Judge Mendoza has a reputation for being intelligent, fair, and hard-working as a judge. We are so pleased that he may have this opportunity to serve a wider community with his appointment. He represents all that is good about

Administrative Office of the Courts ♦ Post Office Box 41170 ♦
Olympia, Washington 98504-1170
Telephone (360) 705-5327 ♦ Telefacsimile (360) 956-5700
E-mail: AOCMIN/JUS@courts.wa.gov ♦ Website: www.courts.wa.gov

## Support for Judge Salvador Mendoza to Serve on the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals **April 26, 2022**

Page 2

this country and the importance of remaining connected to local communities and young people. The Commission is proud of Judge Mendoza, the work he has done both on and off the bench, and his inspirational leadership.

Sincerely,

Justice Mary Yu Co-Chair

Judge Veronica Galván

Co-Chair